Spending more time enjoying life…


Today I sent out an email to many of our friends and family members. I wanted them to know about our blogs so they can follow what we are doing… if they want to that is.

Since we’ve made the decision to change what we are going to do to earn a living as full-time RVers, we’ve both felt a great inner peace. Don’t get me wrong, we’re grateful for the work we’ve been doing, traveling all over and creating guest guides for RV parks. It does not pay quite as well as gate guarding, but we have had a lot of fun traveling around and meeting new people and forming new friendships.

Now we are ready to enjoy things at a slower pace. In writing this blog and the comments I’ve received from other bloggers, I just realized how much I have missed writing. I’ve also missed reading books and getting engrossed in a good movie. Over the last three years, we have been too busy with all the work involved in the guest guide job to just simply enjoy life. And with the economic situation we’re in now, the job of selling ads in RV park guides is getting harder all the time.

While I know we will be somewhat isolated out on the ranch land and will probably experience cabin fever from time to time, I have a whole list of things I want to do that I just could not get around to before. Fun things. And Bob wants to do some tinkering on our rig. We bought it last year as a used coach and there are things he can do to restore it to its original luster, but he has been swamped with all the paperwork that went with the other job.

In a nutshell, we are looking forward to slowing the pace down and banking money for travel. Then when we do take a break, we can truly be tourists. And the time to do it is now while we are young enough and healthy enough to enjoy it all.

In addition to writing my blogs, I’m looking forward to reading more of my fellow gate guard’s blogs. Each blogger has their own unique style and I love to read their entries and picture what they are like. These bloggers seem to be a close knit group of people and we are glad to be joining them.

We are in Amarillo, Texas tonight and will be staying in Burkburnett, Texas tomorrow night. Saturday we head back to our home base in Teague, Texas and start getting the rig and ourselves ready for our new journey. But first, we have three granddaughters to spoil for a while!

Vicky

 

14 thoughts on “Spending more time enjoying life…

  1. Hmmmm, Amarillo, Tx? We are also in Amarillo TX tonight. Hmmmm, heading toward gate guarding? We also are heading that way. Stopping in Fort Worth to do our paperwork, a last job in New Orleans and then on to gate guarding the first week in November? I wonder if you are that beautiful coach my husband has been admiring?
    Look forward to hearing your story as it is starting very near to ours. Good luck and I’ll keep on reading.

    • Wow, this world does get to be a small place!!!
      Did you just leave Las Vegas on Oct. 9th? We left on the 10th and crossed the new bridge too.
      What park were you in Amarillo? We stayed at the KOA. We were the Silver, black & white Travel Supreme Select in the back row with the silver Saturn toad. What were you in?
      What type of work us your final job in New Orleans?
      Is it okay if I add you to my blogroll? You may add my blog to yours if you wish.
      I’ll keep reading too! Thanks for commenting.
      Vicky

      • Hi Vicky,
        We actually left Vegas, Sep 26th and were in Albuquerque working the balloon fiesta for 10 days. We stayed at The Oasis RV Resort in Amarillo. Yes, feel free to add my blog, even tho I need to do some catching up on it. I’ve added you to my reader and am looking forward to following your new journey.
        We work for a company that does ticketing for outdoor festivals. We have the Voodoo Music Fest in downtown New Orleans. We work for them from April 1st to October 31st each year, so we are hoping to gate guard each winter. I’m really looking forward to going to New Orleans as I have never been there before!

        Safe travels.

        Doris

  2. I think you are going to enjoy the “solitude” of gate guarding. You see, that really is a misnomer as you will meet and greet more people in a 24 hour period than at any other point in your life. As a bonus, these people are the salt of the earth and you may develop a few really nice friendships. Enjoy.

  3. Vicky – It all depends on your gate – just as you said in you post – all of our experiences are so different. Most of my nights are fairly quiet. I’ve never written at all before, let alone had the time to maintain two blogs (just like you). I think you’re really going to love that!
    I’m also SO loving reading and getting back in touch with friends I’d lost track while managing an extremely busy resort.
    I think I only had a couple of days of cabin fever – but they came after 9 months without a day off and temps of 112 – so it might have been a literal fever! 🙂
    Enjoy those grand daughters. Looking forward to more tales of your adventures!
    Debbie

    • I will so love to have time for reading, puzzles, and just whatever I feel like I want to do. And like you, getting back in touch with family and friends. Although, I will not be able to just pick up the phone and call most of them just anytime… they’ll be asleep!

      • LOL! – I did run into that problem. I’d pick up the phone at 3 a.m. and start to call before I realized that might not be appreciated. I do, however, have some family and friends that are night owls or insomniacs, so I do get middle of the night calls since they know I’m up. That’s been fun.
        Do you guys know where you’ll be yet?

      • We don’t know where we will be yet. We will be taking care of annual doctor appointments, dental work, vet for the two little Chihuahuas (teeth cleaning & shots), & RV maintenance before we get ready to settle down to our gate. When we talked to Patty last week she said to just call her when we were ready. Sounds like there will be plenty of work out there now and well into the future.

  4. Another thing you do a lot of out here is cleaning. The caliche(road material) is very dry and dusty and no matter how you try, you just can’t keep it out of the RV and vehichles. Every gate is different, but be prepared for the dirt and dust, it seems the wind always blows in TX.

  5. HI Vicky! Please do feel free to add us to your blog roll. I’m a bit lazy about updating it as I’m working the night shift at Amazon right now and just don’t seem to have the energy.

    I’ve added your blog to our list and look forward to hearing more of your adventures. Hoping to be gateguarding in January after done here and some visits to family.

    By the way, we’re looking for a DP. Saw a Travel Supreme online last January that we were very interested in, but life was a bit up in the air at the time. Going to have to check yours out!

    • We’d love to show you our Travel Supreme. It’s a Select which was their flagshiip. The company went out of business in 2008 but they made a fine motorhome. We’ve met many owners in our travels and they all love their units. If you do get one, we can also help you find places to get TS parts and if needed, people who used to service them in Indiana.

      I was going to do the Amazon thing in Nevada, but Bob, my husband, talked me out of it. He was afraid it would be too hard on me with my fibromyalgia. It’s not bad because I take Juice Plus and that has made a world of difference. But I can get very sore. How are you doing with the Amazon job? It sounded like it would be demanding on the body???

  6. If you have Fibromyalgia I can tell you firsthand that you would have quit Amazon by now. I am in my early thirties and quite healthy/fit, Amazon is very very hard work. My parents also are workampers and they are also doing it, I only hope their bodies can make it through the treachery. I am certain they will not be returning, unsure of myself. If the job can cause my healthy legs and back to be in the horrendous pain they are in, you would consider it hell I am sure. Your husband is a good man. I am personally happy he talked you out of it.

    Last I want to clarify I have no beef with Amazon, I like what I am doing. Money is decent, management is polite and they almost seem grateful for us. Thankfully I am young enough to not be facing the hardship the way my coworkers are in their ages. It is a job for people under the age of 40 or extremely interested in a 10 hour a day sweating cardio workout on concrete, not made for anyone who is not used to such vigorous extremes physically.

    Great blog please keep it up!

Leave a Reply

