5 Ways you can add enjoyment to your gate guarding experience…


Sunrise in March at the Ranch... what a sight!

As our first gate guarding job draws to a close (don’t know exactly what day that will be yet… but it should be some time this month), I’ve been reflecting on our experience.

Both Bob and I like this job. We like it a lot better than creating guest guides for RV parks which we did for the last three years. That was a high pressure job with deadlines and sales quotas. Plus, since we were traveling all over the country, we poured quite a bit of our sales commissions into our car’s gas tank and into the Silver Bullet’s diesel tank. And with fuel prices being what they are, one word describes it perfectly–OUCH!

Now that the dust is settling and we are in the pipeline phase we are really enjoying our time out here in the middle of nowhere.

We got to see a mulching machine, actually it’s a hungry tree and cactus eater that pulverizes everything in its path. It crept its way along the dense undergrowth and cleared a crude path for the dozer to pick up on and clear even better.

The final phase of our first job... The munching Mulcher chewing a crude path for the pipeline crew.

These pipeliners are a humorous lot. They seem to enjoy what they do and have a great sense of humor. We have a couple of jokersters who like to mess with us by pulling up to the bell-dinging lines and pulling across, backing up, and doing this over & over when they come in the morning and leave at night… so our bell keeps ringing. Hey, it lightens things up for all of us 🙂 There’s another nice thing as we approach the end of this job–we get to work a 12-hour shift. That means I get to sleep at night along side my hubby. Life is good indeed 😀

A pipeline survey marker in the Texas back country desert jungle. The Silver Bullet is in the background.

So here are the five things I feel will help keep gate guarding more enjoyable (and will keep us happier and make us more friendly to those who come through our gates. Win-Win!

  1. Stay loose and just relax. Even in the busiest of times at the gate… this too shall pass.
  2. Stay in touch with family, friends, and other gate guards. Some great ways to do this are… Facebook… SKYPE (or facetime on smartphones)… email.ing.. texting… online gaming… read blogs and possibly write one of your own. Everyone of them says something different and unique!
  3. Tune into what makes you happy–like hobbies… Reading (I love my color Nook)… Wii Fit Plus (my space-friendly workout center in the RV)… watching movies… writing/blogging… surfing online… working jigsaw puzzles (or Sudoku, crosswords, circle a word–on my Nook I love to play Scrabble. When I don’t have anyone to play with I play against myself as three other people–I’m very competitive 🙂 ) Mainly, do anything that stimulates your brain and do it every day to keep all of your synapses firing!
  4. Get enough sleep. 7-8 hours all at one time is a must to stay healthy and keep your energy levels high.
  5. Laugh. Every chance you get! 🙂

Path cleared, pipe arrived, next step--weld pipe and dig hole.

Pipeliners hard at work welding, x-raying welds, and laying the pipe in the hole.

And for the grand finale... filling in the pipeline trench!

This concludes my tour of our final days on our first gate guarding job. We love working for this oil company and this is a good ranch to work on. Owner is a great guy. I just wish the 9.2 mile road was a bit easier to travel… dream on.

Oh, by the way, this bird has a yellow belly and a white halo around his head. If you know what kind of bird this is, please leave me a comment and let me know. I’ve tried to search online and can’t seem to find out what this is. Thanks!

What kind of bird is this? As soon as I find out, I'll update this caption. I hope someone can tell me what this is 😀

Till next time,

Vicky

8 thoughts on “5 Ways you can add enjoyment to your gate guarding experience…

  1. I tried to look up your bird in my Peterson Field Guide. . .the closest thing I could find is a Great Kiskadee. . .which is in the flycatcher family. Not sure if that is correct or not. It does show your area to be the right part of the country. . .however, it says it is usually near water.

    Will you please let me know what you find out. . .thanks!

    Janice
    http://www.facebook.com/janice.w.evans
    ReadyToGoFullTimeRVing.com

  2. Hi the Bird is a Ladder-Backed woodpecker according to the SIBLEY Field Guide. I will post a picture of him on my Blog tonight I can’t figure out how to get him on here.

  3. hmmm…doesn’t look like either one of those to me, although it does appear to be some sort of woodpecker, flicker or maybe the gnatcatcher family. Maybe i’m not seeing the picture clear enough….ladderbacks have more stripes. Be sure and let me know what it is!

Leave a Reply

