My how time flies…


I’ve been remiss in keeping the posts up to date here. Since we will not be working for GGS, I felt I could re-enact my posts from the time we started our new life adventure as gate guards in the Eagle Ford Shale.

I have not posted controversial material, I have not divulged any trade secrets (not like I know any to begin with πŸ™‚ ) and I just love to post my thoughts and to hear from my followers of this blog about what they are thinking and doing.

I post to help people who are trying to decide if they want to do this work. I was so grateful to find the blogs so full of helpful information when we were struggling about making this choice.

We will be returning to the oil patch October 1st and it won’t be for any previous company we’ve worked for. It will be a large company in the field, however. We have learned from experience that the small start-up companies may look attractive, but their inexperience or desire to stay “small” is not necessarily good for the gate guards that they hire. There are many reasons for that.

We are leaving tomorrow for Mountain Home, Arkansas to spread Bob’s mother’s ashes per her request. She died on July 4th at the ripe age of 98+. After having dementia for over a decade, I hope she has found peace now.

I’m happy to say I am playing Words With Friends with a dear friend of mine in Massachusetts, and playing Scrabble with several of my Facebook friends. If you’d like to join, just look me at Vicky Wallace Heron on Facebook. The nice thing is you can pick up these games and make your move when you get a free moment, and the same for the other players. So it’s fun. Right now both people I’m playing are whooping my tail end! I thought I was a good player. These games will sharpen your mind for sure.

My dear husband, Bob, got me an iPad for my birthday and I just love playing games on it. Who knew I’d become a gamer!?!

See you in the oil patch soon!

Till next time,

Vicky

11 thoughts on “My how time flies…

  1. Welcome back, we also hope to be back in the oil patch sometime after the 15th of September.
    Woody’s 6 week check up is next week and we are sure everything is going to be 100% okay for our return to work. Hope to be able to find a gate without too much trouble. RV goes to shop Wednesday for some fine tuning.

    Mickey

  2. So good to see a post from you ..seems like it has been quite a while. (longer for me,on my blog)
    Lots going on…we may just get to meet you soon’nuff…as I respond to your post… we are preparing to head out seeking GG positions the first week of October. Sure pray all goes well and we get accepted by one company or another… maybe even same one as you… whichever one that is hehehe, time will tell for sure.

    • there has been a squashing of blogging by GGS. But, we don’t work for them anymore and I don’t put sensitive info on my site anyway, so I decided to get back online and blog again. Thank you for following me πŸ™‚

  3. Welcome back, glad to have you on here, I just love following the post, I have 2 ol GG’s I am so loyal to, Susan and Chrissy I follow daily. I look forward to seeing yours again. Hope to see you soon. The work never ends down here , lol. At least we all have job security.

Leave a Reply

