Play time is over… Back To Work!!!


It’s been a while since I’ve posted and all I can say is sometimes life can get hectic… even when you are semi-retired!

After we left the oil patch in August, we went to Teague to visit the granddaughters there, and then on to Katy, Texas to pick up Bob’s mother’s belongings at the personal care home where she passed away (in July) at the age of 98… and to pick up her remains (ashes) at the Funeral Home.

Next stop was on the road to Mountain Home, Arkansas to scatter Mom’s ashes in the White River as per her request. We stayed at a campground along the White River that was aptly named Blue Heron Resort. Imagine that 🙂

Bob’s brother came from Las Vegas as well as Bob’s three children… each from Iowa, Missouri, and Nevada. It was a beautiful, clear morning for Ruth’s memorial service. Bob’s daughter Heather bought a bunch of red roses so we could toss the petals into the water after scattering her ashes. I wish I could post a picture of the rose petals floating in the water, but my connection is too slow. It was a very nice touch… thank you Heather! By the way, red roses were very appropriate since Red was Ruth’s favorite color. From jewelry to shoes to coats, Ruth had a lot of red in her closet.

Heather also brought me a load of tomatoes and peppers from her Iowa garden. I froze every bit of it for cooking and for smoothies. In August I finally got the Vitamix I’ve been wanting, like forever. Now Bob is enduring all kinds of healthy concoctions. He sure is a good sport!!!

We left Mountain Home for our new location, Hot Springs, Arkansas. VACATION!!! There we enjoyed a new treat… a salt water pool at a new resort, Catherine’s Landing. Let me tell you, after swimming in that saline water, I never want to step foot in a chlorine pool again. Yuck! The salt water did not make my skin all dry and my hair didn’t feel all stiff.

While there, we bought some pure, homemade soaps, ate yummy pancakes at a local pancake house on Bath House Row, visited a local winery (yes, of course I got some delicious wine), and embarked on a dinner & dancing cruise aboard the former paddle boat, now motorized, “Belle of Hot Springs.” We also enjoyed a birds eye view of the Hot Springs National Park from the observation tower located in the park.

On our cruise around Lake Hamilton aboard the Belle, we learned that the city of Hot Springs is actually part of the Hot Springs National Park. They just dropped the last two words for the city name. But they count every visitor to the city as a visitor to the national park.This was my 4th visit to Hot Springs and I’d never heard that little tidbit before.

Next stop… Teague to visit the granddaughters for a couple of weeks. Then on to Iron Horse RV in San Antonio for some upgrades we wanted to have done. First upgrade was to install a Dish HD unit on the roof. Now poor Bob does not have to put up the portable dish and line it up everytime we move. We just turn the unit on and it props itself up, searches for the three satellites needed for HD and parks itself when it is done! How cool is that!

Then we replaced the two remaining tube-styled television sets with flat screens. Now I have more storage behind the TVs. Bob is building shelves for me behind one of them. We have more we want to do on this rig, but all in good time. Iron Horse does great work!

We began our wait with our new gate guard company on October 1st. We knew we would not be first on their list since we were new to them. Over the next five weeks we kept in touch with our contact and finally on November 5th we got the call. At this time we were at our membership RV park, The Summit, near Canyon Lake. So out of three people they called we could get there the quickest… translation… we got the gate.

We arrived in the Millet/Cotulla area on Monday afternoon, November 5th.

We were glad we finally got a call since we had been waiting for about five weeks. But in that time we’ve been having fun in the San Antonio area. We went to Whole Foods about four times (woohoo) and country dancing at the Wild West club. We also got new western boots with slick soles for dancing.

I normally wear Ariat Fat Baby boots when we are working and they are so comfortable, but they have a non-skid type of sole. Definitely not good for dancing.

We have a nice pad to park the Silver Bullet on. We have good equipment with plenty of horses to power our rig and the attached light plant… and our guy Brad said I could also put up all the Christmas lights I wanted. Hmmm–I think I’ll do that this year!

I have a question I’d like to ask other GG’s… Does anyone else have a dishwasher in their rig? If so, do you have a problem with running it on these industrial generators? The reason I’m asking, is at our first company we thought we blew the circuit panel in it. We replaced it for $240+. Long story short–turns out the dishwasher works fine on shore power and with our Onan generator. However, it konks out on these industrial generators. Just wondering if anyone else is having this problem???

I HATE washing dishes 😦

I must say, it is still plenty warm for November, but we are in Texas afterall.

The drilling rig moved in the day after we did… on election day. They have been “rigging-up” all week. It was nice to have a night to get on our schedules and get set up without interruptions.

Since we’ve been in Teague, Canyon Lake, and San Antonio since early August, I’d like to catch up with everyone. Is there a ladies or mens lunch in Cotulla anymore?

As I write this I’m struck by the holiday shows and advertisements flooding the channels already!

Is it my imagination or does the Christmas season start earlier each year??? I’m watching the Hallmark Channel tonight and it is jam-packed with Christmas shows… and Thanksgiving isn’t even here yet, Geesh!!! And now I hear some stores are announcing their Black Friday specials. Waiiiiiiiiit a minute… I’m not ready for this just yet*&^^$$#^*@

Today is grocery day. Gotta go get ready to get out of here… for a while anyway!

Till next time,

Vicky

8 thoughts on “Play time is over… Back To Work!!!

  1. Welcome back, from the noobs, yep we are on our first gate… been South of Cotulla since 10/17. Must say we love it, including the wildlife and cattle LOL… so far taranchulas, javalina, rabbit, roadrunners , the rancher’s cattle and oh… last evening I caught a glimpse of a coyote as he crossed the road about 150 yards from us.

    • Marsha,

      Thank you for the welcome. We were south & east of Cotulla last year. You can keep the coyotes, they give me chills!!! Which one of you works nights? We have never seen a taranchula yet. I saw a wild pig today on the way back from Pearsall. He looked pretty big for a Javalina and did not have tusks.

      Our rancher’s cattle make a round every morning. They are hand fed corn so are a pain to get away from the gate when they come near. I don’t hand feed them-LOL. Even though I grew up on a farm in Illinois, I’ve never been an animal person… except for my two little Chihuahuas.

      Glad to hear you are enjoying the job/lifestyle. Once you get settled in, it’s not too bad.

      Vicky

  2. I’ll add my welcome back too. I think we are very near by. We are about 12 miles west of Cotulla and then about 3 miles north. We actually took 469 off of I35 today to get home from Pearsall. I’ll have to look you up!

    • I tried to email you and could not get it to go through. So Thank You for the welcome back message. Lynette Baily & I are having lunch today at the DQ in Cotulla at 1:00 pm if you can make it.

      We’d love to have you come by!

  3. Welcome, I hope to see you when we get back , only 3 weeks then we are back…. Enjoy…

    Yes Christmas coming way to early, but it is good for us , since we can do some shopping before we get back.

    • Hope you have been enjoying your time off! I’m meeting with Lynette today for lunch at the Cotulla DQ. I think we still have some people in this area. We’ll have to get together when you return. BTW… we like LOMA! Much better than the other two we worked for… for sure!!!

Leave a Reply

