A tribute to a gentle soul…


I never had a brother… but I had the next best thing. My brother-in-law, Richard Heron.

Richard in Arkansas, September, 2012

Monday, November 26, 2012 is a date that has changed our lives forever. That’s the day we found out Richard had departed this world (way too soon).

Before I continue, I want to share something most of us feel pretty comfortable about. It’s that unthinkably bad things happen to other families–not our own.

I used to think that. I was wrong.

Several years ago we met a man who was just coming out of a tragic family situation. His brother suffered from undiagnosed bi-polar disorder and one day, he tried to kill his two sons. One died, the other one recovered. His brother is now serving time.

Our friendship grew because we listened to his pain and we  helped him through a very rough time in his life. Sometimes you don’t know why certain people enter your life, they just do. We like to think there are angels working all around us…

Now we know why this man came into our lives as we find ourselves in a similar situation. You see, my Bob’s brother Richard, was murdered by his own 32-year-old son, Richard Jr., on November 18th.

Las Vegas Review-Journal article

KTNV Channel 13 Las Vegas Richard Heron video and report

The cold-hearted brutality of this act was so unthinkable, that the story was on the front pages of Las Vegas newspapers and was the top story on the news broadcasts yesterday. I’m not going to go into detail here, you can click on the links above for that.

It is so sad when good, decent people are struck down needlessly. Richard was a gentle, quiet man. He always treated me like his sister. I never saw him raise his voice or his hand to anyone.

He was enjoying being a “grandpa” to his 8-year-old grandson, Evan. I know he enjoyed playing out in the yard with him when he came over to visit.

Richard was Bob’s younger brother by three years. They sort of drifted apart over the years as families sometimes do. That is until 1997. Bob took a trip to Las Vegas that year (just a week before we met) to see his brother and get re-acquainted. And from then on, their relationship was rekindled. They became very good friends.

Over the years we have gone out to visit with him many times and he has flown down to Texas to see us. In September he met us in Arkansas for the memorial service we were having for Ruth, their 98-year-old mother who died on July 4th of this year. We were so glad to spend time with him. Our two Chihuahuas, Jack and Jesse, were permanent fixtures on his lap. You know what they say about animals and children… they can tell who the good people are!

Richard was a gentle and kind soul.

You’ll be missed little brother. Say hello to Mom for us. We’re sure you are enjoying a Manhattan with her now for happy hour 🙂

As I write this we are on the road in our RV (home on wheels) and on our way to Las Vegas. We have a lot to do to get Richard’s affairs settled. We left the oil patches of South Texas yesterday to begin this journey.

We will be spending Christmas with our daughter Julia and her family. They also live in Las Vegas.

Right now we are taking everything one day at a time. If feels so unreal. Loss leaves a deep hole that only time can fill.

Till next time,

Vicky

16 thoughts on “A tribute to a gentle soul…

  1. So sorry for your loss. My prayers to you and bob. Be safe on your travels. Prayers tthat Robert Jr. will be able to get the help he needs. I know you will enjoy having your family close for support.

    • I know you are right about Richard Jr. getting help. We are trying to work on the forgiveness thing. Our friend who I mentioned in the tribute has been talking to us about that. I’m sure in time we will be able to do it, can’t even thing that far ahead today… maybe tomorrow.

      Thanks for your message. We appreciate it.

      Vicky & Bob

    • I know Bob, it is just so horrible what a child did to his father. We are still not quite wrapped around the whole thing yet. Just unbelievable.

      I will say LOMA was absolutely wonderful to us. They got a replacement the next morning and were very supportive.

      Vicky & Bob

    • Thank you Nick. We are having a few small problems along the way. One jack blew the seal, gotta get it replaced in Vegas. Our light cord for the toad needs a new connection all of a sudden. the left side lights on the toad won’t stay on. Hope we don’t get pulled over.

      This morning we almost left and forgot to unplug from the pedestal. That would have been BAD!

      We are going to be much more alert and careful. please say prayers. Thank you so much.

      Vicky & Bob

      • Don’t let this get you down. Life still goes on and God is watching over you. There is always a reason for everything. Time to double check everything.

        Nick

      • Hi Nick,
        You are so right. We live by “there is a reason for everything.” We may not know why now…
        Yesterday was a really bad for both of us and we made many RV mistakes because of it. fortunately we did not damage anything. We left our really nice water pressure gauge in Fort Stockton,TX. But, we’ll replace it in Las Vegas.
        We are safe and making sure this does not get between us. You are right, we know God is watching over us and all we want to do is hold on to the love we have for our brother and with that love, take care of what we need to do for him when we get there.
        Thank you for keeping us in your thoughts. It really helps more than we can say.
        Vicky

  2. My condolensces to both of you. What a tragedy! I will be thinking and praying for you as you attempt to settle his affairs and sort out what has happened. Be strong.
    Lynette Bailey

  3. Oh Vicky –
    This is the first night I’ve had any internet in a week.
    I can’t begin to tell you how sorry I am.
    You and Bob and all of your family and friends who are so deeply touched by this tragedy are now, and will continue to be, very much in my prayers in the days and weeks ahead.
    I’m thankful you’re physically OK – it’s like living in slow motion with the rest of the world racing – so easy to make small mistakes that could have been dangerous. I’ll be praying for your safety on the rest of your journey and for the healing of your hearts.
    Godspeed,
    Debbie
    (no need to respond – just wanted you to know how truly sadden and sorry I am and that I promise to keep you all in my prayers)

  4. Vichy & Bob, haven’t blogged with y’all since leaving the oil patch. Just wanted to tell you how sorry we are to hear of your loss. Our thoughts & prayers are with you both. Please be careful, with everything going on it’s too easy to let that check list get side tracked, ” been there, done that!” Be safe! Tom & Lynn

    • THank you Lynn, I know what you mean. When we almost pulled out the power pedestal in an RV park in the morning it was a real wake up call for us. We seemed to have Murphy along the whole way. But we did make it safe and sound! Thank you for your thoughts and prayers. Vicky & Bob

  5. Vicky,
    I’m very sorry to hear of your recent loss. I know what you are feeling as my cousin killed my favorite aunt (her mother) ten years ago. My cousin is still locked up for the crime.

    I have been following your blog for some time now as we are thinking about gate guarding and I appreciate all your input (and time spent doing it) along with several other gg blogs. We have contacted a company but so far have not taken the necessary steps to actually gate guard. This past summer we tried a different route that didn’t work out so are still considering gg.

    I notice you mention you order on line a lot and I just recently learned of a way to make money by purchasing on line. (I earned $30 in a little over a week and spent $200 on things I wanted and needed.) If you are interested in learning more about it please email me (I think you can see my email address) and I will be happy to tell you about it.

    The holidays are always a tougher time to lose a loved one but God is faithful and will see you through. You and your family will continue to be in my prayers.

Leave a comment